Richard Russo & Andre Dubus, III : In Conversation

Thursday, October 19th @ 5:30 pm



Join award-winning authors—and dear friends—Richard Russo and Andre Dubus, III for an intimate evening of reading and conversation at Vinegar Hill Music Theatre – 53 Old Post Rd. Arundel, ME 04046.

Come autumn, Dubus and Russo will both be fresh off the publications of brand new novels. Dubus’s Such Kindness, the story of a working-class white man’s terrible fall, has been called “A powerful portrait of recovered dignity” by People magazine. In Somebody’s Fool, Russo returns to North Bath, in upstate New York, and to the characters that captured the hearts and imaginations of millions of readers in his beloved bestsellers Nobody’s Fool and Everybody’s Fool.

As always, both novels brim with the two authors’ trademark heartrending observations and—especially in Russo’s case—wry humor. These are two masters in peak form.

Dubus and Russo have read to rapt audiences at Graves Library over the years, but this very special evening marks the first time the longtime friends will be appearing together in Kennebunkport. Moderating the conversation will be former library board member Joshua Bodwell, editorial director of Godine and Black Sparrow Press.

This event is being sponsored by our friends at Vinegar Hill Music Theater.


A book signing with both authors will follow the event.

Andre Dubus III’s books include the New York Times’ bestsellers House of Sand and Fog, The Garden of Last Days, and his memoir, Townie. His recent novel, Gone So Long, was named to many “Best Books” lists, including The Boston Globe’s “Twenty Best Books of 2018.” In April 2023, Dubus served as editor of Reaching Inside: 50 Acclaimed Authors on 100 Unforgettable Short Stories. His novel, Such Kindness, was released in June 2023. A collection of personal essays, Ghost Dogs: On Killers and Kin, is due winter 2024.

Richard Russo is the author of ten acclaimed novels, including Everybody’s Fool and That Old Cape Magic; two collections of stories; and the memoir Elsewhere. In 2002 he received the Pulitzer Prize for Empire Falls, which, like Nobody’s Fool, was adapted into a multiple-award-winning miniseries; in 2017, he received France’s Grand Prix de Littérature Américaine. His novel, Somebody’s Fool, was released in July 2023.

A Benefit for the Louis T. Graves Memorial Public Library

Order tickets: